Adding Slaves To Cube.

EcoJones

EDIT:

Prasanna has made a document that explains the upgrade process, download it here:
viewtopic.php?t=54

Installers are charging silly money to upgrade my energy cube and Project Solar are even saying that it can't be upgraded to anything above 16kWh.

I've got an H1-6.0-E inverter.

After reading the manual that clearly states the ECS4 100 can be upgraded to 28kWh I decided to attempt the upgrade myself and have pre-orderd two more slave batteries, taking my 12kWh to 20kWh.

I have a City and Guilds certificate in electrical engineering so not a complete noob with electrics but this project is new to me and I would like to get it right first time.

Done some research and now have a basic idea of how this should be done but before I attempted it I would like to run it by a more experienced bunch of people to see if I've got it right or if I'm missing anything.

The basics I've found:

Wear rubber gloves.

Drain the existing battery to 50% (the new slaves come with 50% charge, this way they will match-up and balance better)

Turn off the DC switches from the solar.

Turn off the large red round power (kill) switch on the wall.

Turn off the battery power switch.

Remove the master battery.

Place the 2 new slaves on top of the other slaves.

Replace the master battery on top.

Set the DIP switch to the correct setting for the new slave/slaves.

Turn the powers back on in reverse order.

I've also noticed there is an earthing cable going from battery to battery up the whole cube stack, guessing that this needs to be carried onto the new slaves?

So that's where I'm at.

I'm hoping someone else will verify or explain where I'm going wrong.

Thanks.
Last edited by EcoJones on Sun Mar 19, 2023 8:37 am, edited 2 times in total.
100% electric house / car
6kW PV
6kW H1 Inverter
24kWh Energy Cube
Zappi Car Charger
ASHP

Datahopa Tech Com
Ibuk

That sounds like what I was planning.