MODBUS on H1-5.0-E

Post Reply
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

Hi,

I have a hybrid H1-5-E with 15 405W solar panels, 2 MIRA-HV25 battery packs and a MIRA-BMS.

I am trying to connect up the MODBUS on the Meter/CT/RS485 connector.

I have checked the Device ID.

When I send a MODBUS request the response is a single byte.

I have tried different settings but to no avail.

Firmware versions:
Master 1.48
Slave 1.02
Manager 1.45

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
Dave Foster
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 7:21 pm

A few things to look at, have you been using modbus direct over LAN?, if you have you must disable the ethernet port for the RS485 to respond.

How are you sending the modbus request, using modpoll.exe ? and if so what is the command and register location you are writing to.

If you are using modpoll.exe this request should get you a response for the PV registers

modpoll.exe -m tcp -p 502 -a 247 -t 3 -0 -1 -c 3 -r 11000 192.168.xxx.xxx (put in your TCP IP address here and assumes you have set you slave ID in the inverter settings to 247)
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

Thanks Dave,

I am using MODBUS RTU connecting to pins 3 & 4 as my inverter does not have an ethernet port but does have the ability to set DHCP or IP address.

I have tried different programs including modpoll.exe

modpoll -m rtu -a 247 -t 3 -c3 -r 11000 -b 9600 -p none COM5
Dave Foster
Posts: 862
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 7:21 pm

ok, for what it's worth be sure that your DHCP is set to disabled and I think you said you had checked the slave ID but whilst you are in the menu double check it's set to 247.

Your modbus command looks correct, i'm quite surprised it doesn't respond ?

Pins 3 (485B) & 4 (485A) are the correct pins and should be connected straight through A>A and B>B

What adaptor are you using in between the inverter and your host computer, are there any settings in there ?

Looking at your inverter firmware, that is quite old, but that shouldn't be causing you a problem with this.
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

Hi Dave,

I'm using a Waveshare USB to RS485(B) as listed on Nathanmalor GIThub site.

I'll keep trying as I'm sure there's a setting I need to change that I've missed.

Once I get it working I plan to connect it to HA. I even might create my own monitor as I have various micro controllers lying around not doing much.

Kind Regards,
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

I was hoping to be able to do an off-line firmware upgrade but that doesn't look possible as FOX-ESS don't allow that.
User avatar
Will
Site Admin
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 5:56 pm

Contact fox support and they'll upgrade your firmware for you over the air.
Community Admin / FoxESS Professional

Buy me a coffee or Book a zoom meeting for remote consultancy

FoxESS Tri Inverter Installation
2 x KH Series Inverters
24 x HV2600 (62.4kWh)
32 x 490w across 4 arrays
Dual Tesla Household
Heatpump & Low Carbon Housebuild
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

Hi Will,

I can ask FOX-ESS but I'm not sure that they'll want to send an engineer all the way from China to my house for an upgrade.

My system is not connected to the internet and never will be.


Kind Regards,
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

I went through all the settings on the inverter and checked the wiring.

I re-ran Modpoll but still it didn't work and then suddenly just before I was going to give up it worked.

Great News! I can now use my test platform to check everything works in HA before I purchase dedicated hardware to run HA.

Kind Regards,
User avatar
Will
Site Admin
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 5:56 pm

Great to hear you got it working!
Community Admin / FoxESS Professional

Buy me a coffee or Book a zoom meeting for remote consultancy

FoxESS Tri Inverter Installation
2 x KH Series Inverters
24 x HV2600 (62.4kWh)
32 x 490w across 4 arrays
Dual Tesla Household
Heatpump & Low Carbon Housebuild
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

Hi Will,

FOX-ESS UK have sent me the latest firmware for my inverter, all I have to do now is find an USB stick and see if it works.

Wish me luck.
User avatar
Will
Site Admin
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2022 5:56 pm

Keep us posted!
Community Admin / FoxESS Professional

Buy me a coffee or Book a zoom meeting for remote consultancy

FoxESS Tri Inverter Installation
2 x KH Series Inverters
24 x HV2600 (62.4kWh)
32 x 490w across 4 arrays
Dual Tesla Household
Heatpump & Low Carbon Housebuild
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

Hi WIll,

The upgrade worked.

Master - 1.64
Manager - 1.71


Kind Regards,
JulianG
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 08, 2024 1:24 pm

I have now requested the latest firmware for my BMS and batteries.

Lets see what happens next.
Post Reply